L – Learn to love learning.

courtesy glamour magazine

I learned something this past week. Perfectionism as much as it can be a strong quality, can also be a huge detriment to your work. Well, at least that’s what this lady says. —> Is Perfectionism Holding You Back?

Believe it or not, I’ve had this post lined up since, I just didn’t put it up because I didn’t think it was good enough. Also, I started school again so the tasks I have to juggle have compounded. In any case, two days ago, I stumbled across the aforementioned blog post on Twitter and it gave me the kick I needed. So, to make up for the hiatus, I will post L, M and N in succession. So three posts today.  That’s my way of sending flowers and chocolate after breaking off an engagement. Am I forgiven? Awww! You’re too sweet. Alright, on to business!

Learn. I harp on learning a lot don’t I? I’m an avid gatherer of knowledge and a firm believer in the fact that no knowledge is lost. So today’s topic, is learn. Learn everything and learn to love learning. Below are a few things I have learned over the years:

  • Learn the proper terms for what you wear. Here’s two quick lessons for dresses and hats.
    1. Dresses: http://thegloss.com/fashion/this-is-what-dresses-are-called-111/
    2. Hats: https://fashionmocha.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/hats.jpg
  • Learn how to set a table properly. Here’s another quick lesson. (Homemakers and wives, you’re welcome)
    1. Formal: https://fashionmocha.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/formal-table.jpg
    2. Informal: https://fashionmocha.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/informal-table.jpg
  • Learn to wake up a certain time everyday and establish a routine. (Get an external monitor to keep you in check. You’ll hate them now, but thank them in your 40s)
  • Learn to love your imperfections (Darling, they are here to stay and you know what? That’s okay)
  • Learn to love yourself. Love is infectious. If you love being you, people will flock to you like pigeons to Islington subway station in Toronto. They are everywhere.
  • Learn to read. This one is so important. I hear people say all the time that they don’t read and it baffles me. Read. Read everything. How else can you learn about the world you live in if you don’t read? Speaking of reading, buy The Goddess Guide by Gisele Scanlon and read it. It has everything in there from underwear to how to fix the scuff on patent leather shoes.
  • Learn to form your own unbiased opinion. Read it all, but be selective in what you believe. There’s a term for people who believe without thinking for themselves, it’s called brainwashed.
  • Learn to respect other people’s opinions. There is nothing more delightful than a person who can disagree with you but respect your point of view.
  • Learn to be wrong. We as women LOVE to be right, but we know it’s not true. Nobody is always right. Not one person on this earth.
  • Learn to be gentle with criticism but firm with praise. It works better.
  • Learn to forgive. (And by that I mean forgive me for the tawdry behaviour of the past month, I really had a valid reason)
  • Learn patience. (When you do, kindly come here, comment and teach me how you did it)

You’re wondering what any of this has to do with fashion? Well, if you know the proper term for what you’re wearing, it will be easier to read product descriptions. If you know how to set a proper table, you get to make a fantastic well-heeled hostess. If you learn patience, discretion with your opinions and how to be wrong, you will avoid so many arguments (also you will shop easier because you won’t be swayed by sales schpiels). If you love yourself and your imperfections, shopping will be a breeze and you can tell which mirrors in dressing rooms have been altered to trick you. When you know your body like a map, you’ll notice if there’s some trickery and you’ll definitely know that dress will NOT look like that when you get home! Once again, you’re welcome. I missed you too.

Stay fabulous ladies!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,349 other followers

